Week 1 – getting over jet lag and adjusting to life in Delhi

I apologize for not posting sooner, but I will try to recount my first week the best I can…

Started off my journey in Dulles, saying goodbye to family once again.  Arrived in London early morning on the 31st with an outgoing flight only in the evening, so I decided to walk around and take in some of London’s best sights.

Beautiful day on the Thames!

Beautiful day on the Thames!

Though it was freezing cold (by my augmented Botswana standards) in the morning, the afternoon turned out to be a gloriously sunny day.  One thing you should know about me is that I love fresh food from local markets, especially street vendors, so on a suggestion, I stopped by Bourough Market for some lunch for an awesome meat pie and wheatgrass juice.

Chef preparing hand-held Caesar salad at Borough Market

Chef preparing hand-held Caesar salad at Borough Market

Overall, the best thing about London is how easy it is to navigate the Tube; it took no time to figure out which routes to take and where to get off.  Anyone passing through Heathrow with at least 4 to 5 hours to spare should definitely consider leaving the airport for some fresh air.  I was only discouraged by how much stronger the pound is to the dollar.

After my day in London, I was actually reluctant to leave because I knew I’d miss my western comforts once in Delhi.

Arrived safely in IGI Airport on the 1st exhausted from the two days of travel.  Though I arrived safely, my bag did not.  At that point, I had about 8 hours to think of the many reasons why going to India was a bad idea, especially after spending the past 4 months abroad.  I wished I had chosen a different CFHI program site in South Africa or anything that was more familiar to what I already knew.  I was not looking forward to having to learn all of the little rules of a new country again.  I was tired of feeling uncomfortable.  And I missed the US.  I felt that I was away from home too long.  Needless to say, when I realized my bag was lost, I was ready to break down.

In those moments, we have two choices: either wallow in regret and self pity or suck it up and try to make your situation better.  Without continuing to talk about myself too much, I will just say that from that point, I told myself to stop complaining and stop regretting.  And my bag eventually made it after two days.

The definition of a grid lock

The definition of a grid lock

With the first challenge over, adjusting to Delhi wasn’t too hard.  The city is as dirty as it is full of culture.  Traffic is hectic.  And hectic doesn’t even cover it.  If you are a tourist or visitor to India, don’t even think about trying to rent a car and drive it yourself.  It takes nerves of steel and quick reflexes to drive on the streets.  Just trust your driver and plunge in!

Leave a Reply

