Night Before Travel

Can’t believe I’m heading out overseas again after just coming back from my semester abroad.  The typical pre-trip jitters are setting in.  Since I’ve been home, the sterility of US suburbia has really struck me, so I’m looking forward to going back to the chaos of a non-western world.  Again, I’m heading out with little to no expectations, just with an open mind and ready to learn!  Just so you know exactly what I’ll be doing…

CFHI is an NGO that promotes service-learning through health education programs in foreign countries.  This summer, I will be doing clinical rotations in areas around New Delhi for 4 weeks then Mumbai for another 4.  Luckily, I won’t be alone so I look forward to meeting other pre-med and medical students in the group.  It will be interesting to see how much firsthand versus hands on experience we will have on the program as pre-med students.  It’s unethical in my opinion for us to do anything that requires medical training, but at least in my experience at clinics in Botswana, people may still ask you to draw blood or dress wounds because they see you wearing a white lab coat.  So I wonder if circumstances will be similar in India.

As a side note, I got my scrubs in the mail today!

Leave a Reply

